The Golden Dawn Tradition

What is the Golden Dawn?

The Golden Dawn is an initiatory mystery school from the Western Mystery Tradition, that teaches the foundations of ritual and ceremonial magic. Contrary to popular belief, the traditional “Golden Dawn” was not a magical order; the Inner Order of the group (under whatever name they may function) has traditionally been the magical order. One would progress through the outer order “school” until proven proficient in the knowledge lectures and other requirements, and then they were allowed into the inner order. At that point, they would begin the study of more advanced magical instruction and practice.

The Golden Dawn is a school of knowledge required to enter into practical magical work. Our group holds itself to the same structure as the original order and requires its members to memorize information and perform certain requirements until they pass into the Inner Order.

The Golden Dawn course of study is exhaustive. As traditional Golden Dawn, our Temple teaches initiates in the following fields as well as many others:

  • Kabbalah
  • Astrology
  • Divination
    • Tarot
    • Geomancy
  • Alchemy
  • Hermeticism
  • Theurgy
  • Initiatic Work
  • Elemental/Zodiacal/Planetary Magic
  • Talismans
  • Scrying
  • Astral Travel
  • Healing
  • Rosicrucian Mysticism
  • Egyptian Magic
  • Enochian Magic

The Golden Dawn follows a Kabbalistic grade structure. Each grade is associated to a Sephirah on the Tree of Life, as well as being associated to one of the traditional classic Alchemical Elements. The Temple of Thoth Amen-Ra offers initiation into the following traditional Golden Dawn grades:

Grade:     Name:                Element/Planet/Sephirah

0=0     Neophyte                   —

1=10   Zelator                        Earth/Malkuth

2=9     Theoricus                    Air/Luna/Yesod

3=8     Practicus                     Water/Mercury/Hod

4=7     Philosophus                 Fire/Venus/Netzach

Portal                         Spirit

Before passing on to each successive grade, members must pass written, practical and oral examinations testing their theoretical and ritual knowledge of the Golden Dawn System. The student will be expected to perform all of the three sections to the best of their ability. In addition to the exams, each member must write two short essays.

Upon completing the journey of the Outer Order, and after spending a certain period within the Grade of Portal, members may be invited & initiated into the Second Order Grades, which consist of:

Grade:     Name:                  Planet/Sephirah

5=6        Adeptus Minor        Sol/Tiphareth

6=5        Adeptus Major        Mars/Geburah

7=4        Adeptus Exemptus   Jupiter/Chesed

For more information, please see the GD FAQ.  If you are interested in finding out more about joining us, please see our page on Membership in our Order.